To Right Every Wrong

To Right Every Wrong

Dave Andrews’s latest book, To Right Every Wrong, is the last in the Dave Andrews Legacy Series. It is a funny, sad, brutally honest retrospective, reflecting on what it has meant for him and his family to seek to live a lifetime dedicated to love and justice. The reflections in this book, subtitled The Making and Unmaking of One Improbable Minor Prophet, come in three parts—the personal, the prophetical, and the paradoxical. The personal part explores Andrews’s experience of the radical, compassionate spirituality that he shares with wife, Angie, and which has shaped their way of life as a family in community with marginalized and disadvantaged groups of people. The prophetical part explores Andrews’s embrace of the “strange,” “crazy,” “improbable” call he felt to be a prophet, which he has sought to flesh out in classic prophetic roles—as an interrogator, a protester, a practitioner, and an inspirator—in contemporary prophetic contexts characterized by poverty and violence. The paradoxical part explores Andrews’s making and unmaking as a minor prophet, critically constructing and deconstructing the more confrontational aspects of the prophetic roles he has played in order to be able to practice more sensitive pastoral care.

Download Now
Author
Publisher Wipf and Stock Publishers
Release Date
ISBN 1725288532
Pages 288 pages
Rating 4/5 (39 users)

More Books:

To Right Every Wrong
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Dave Andrews
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-01-21 - Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

GET EBOOK

Dave Andrews’s latest book, To Right Every Wrong, is the last in the Dave Andrews Legacy Series. It is a funny, sad, brutally honest retrospective, reflecting
One Right Answer, Infinite Wrong Answers: Why Humanity Is Addicted to Being Wrong
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: David Sinclair
Categories: Philosophy
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-07-27 - Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

GET EBOOK

This is a book about the one objective truth of existence, and the countless subjective falsehoods accepted as true by the vast majority of humanity. This book
Our Knowledge of Right and Wrong
Language: en
Pages: 347
Authors: Harrison, Jonathan
Categories: Philosophy
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-04-04 - Publisher: Routledge

GET EBOOK

First published in 2002. This is Volume VI of twelve in the Library of Philosophy series on Ethics. Written in 1971, this text looks at our knowledge of right a
The Right to Do Wrong
Language: en
Pages: 512
Authors: Mark Osiel
Categories: Law
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-02-25 - Publisher: Harvard University Press

GET EBOOK

Much of what we could do, we shouldn’t—and we don’t. Mark Osiel shows that common morality—expressed as shame, outrage, and stigma—is society’s firs
The Origin of Our Knowledge of Right and Wrong (Routledge Revivals)
Language: en
Pages: 188
Authors: Franz Brentano
Categories: Philosophy
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-07-15 - Publisher: Routledge

GET EBOOK

Based on a lecture given before the Vienna Law Society in 1889, this title had an extraordinary influence in the field of philosophy. It provided the basis for
What's Wrong with Rights?
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Nigel Biggar
Categories: Philosophy
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-09-25 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

GET EBOOK

Are natural rights 'nonsense on stilts', as Jeremy Bentham memorably put it? Must the very notion of a right be individualistic, subverting the common good? Sho
The Politics of Punk
Language: en
Pages: 260
Authors: David A. Ensminger
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-08-11 - Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

GET EBOOK

The Politics of Punk probes the conscience of punk music by going beyond the lyrics and slogans of the pithy culture war. Creating a people’s history of punk'
The Wrong Side of Right
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Jenn Marie Thorne
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-03-17 - Publisher: Penguin

GET EBOOK

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick comes this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash
The Most Common Mistakes in English Usage
Language: en
Pages: 104
Authors: Dr. Thomas Elliott Berry
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-07-31 - Publisher: Pickle Partners Publishing

GET EBOOK

This book analyzes the errors most commonly made in spoken and written English and presents them in a systematic, down-to-earth manner. It does not dictate gram
De Bow's Review
Language: en
Pages: 642
Authors: James Dunwoody Brownson De Bow
Categories: Southern States
Type: BOOK - Published: 1867 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK