Rivers of Iron

Rivers of Iron

"Rivers of Iron tells the story of China's unfolding role in realizing the region-wide dream of building an intercountry railway system connecting Southwest China and its seven Southeast Asian neighbors. This system is gradually taking shape with construction of Chinese-backed projects underway in several Southeast Asian countries. Progress is being made. Nonetheless, while the PRC is strong, it is not a goliath bestriding the world, even in this region where China looms over its small and medium-sized neighbors. This book illuminates the strengths and weaknesses of China's demonstration of power during President Xi Jinping's self-styled "New Era" as well as the capacity of its smaller neighbors to resist, shape, and at times even take advantage of China's actions. Utilizing frameworks from the fields of international relations and comparative politics, this book seeks to explain how domestic politics in all eight of the involved nations affects their external behavior. Finally, Rivers of Iron addresses a fundamental development issue in what is emerging globally as a new age of infrastructure--How should we understand the role of infrastructure in development, and how do policy makers and analysts balance the long-term value and prospective gains of investments with the sometimes huge short- and medium-term costs?"--

Download Now
Author
Publisher
Release Date
ISBN 0520372999
Pages 335 pages
Rating 4/5 (93 users)

More Books:

Rivers of Iron
Language: en
Pages: 335
Authors: David M. Lampton
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

"Rivers of Iron tells the story of China's unfolding role in realizing the region-wide dream of building an intercountry railway system connecting Southwest Chi
River of Iron
Language: en
Pages: 338
Authors: David Lee
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-08-23 - Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

GET EBOOK

HEMATITE AND TALES of streets paved with gold drew boatloads of Europeans to the Marquette Iron Range in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula in the late 1800s—includ
Geology of the Central Part of the Iron River District, Iron County, Michigan
Language: en
Pages: 20
Authors: Carl Evans Dutton
Categories: Geology
Type: BOOK - Published: 1949 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

Iron River
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: T. Jefferson Parker
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-01-05 - Publisher: Penguin

GET EBOOK

For fans of Michael Connelly and CJ Box, the third thrilling novel in the Charlie Hood series from New York Times bestseller and Edgar-award winner T. Jefferson
Interdisciplinary Research into Iron Metallurgy along the Drava River in Croatia
Language: en
Pages: 284
Authors: Tajana Sekelj Ivančan
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-10-07 - Publisher: Archaeopress Publishing Ltd

GET EBOOK

Presenting the results of the TransFER project, this study uses a wide-ranging methodology to examine the evidence for, and nature of, iron production in the lo
Philadelphia's Pencoyd Iron Works: Forging Along the Schuylkill River
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Kevin Righter
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020 - Publisher: Arcadia Publishing

GET EBOOK

"Established on the Schuykill River in 1852, Philadelphia's Pencoyd Iron Works was a global leader in structural steel and wrought iron for more than eight deca
The Iron River
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Amy Cissell
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-05-05 - Publisher: Amy Cissell

GET EBOOK

Two years have passed since Eleanor opened the final gate and crossed to the Fae Realm. Now she’s back on Earth only to find everything in chaos. Eleanor’s
Colleton River Dredging and Pier Construction Permit, Chicago Bridge & Iron Company
Language: en
Pages:
Authors:
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1974 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

Land Between the Lakes
Language: en
Pages: 192
Authors: Frank E. Smith
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-07-15 - Publisher: University Press of Kentucky

GET EBOOK

Land Between the Lakes Recreation Area lies in western Kentucky and Tennessee, between two huge lakes formed by dams on the Tennessee and Cumberland rivers.Some
Congressional Record
Language: en
Pages: 2146
Authors: United States. Congress
Categories: Legislation
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher:

GET EBOOK