Against White Feminism: Notes on Disruption

Against White Feminism: Notes on Disruption

A radically inclusive, intersectional, and transnational approach to the fight for women’s rights. Upper-middle-class white women have long been heralded as “experts” on feminism. They have presided over multinational feminist organizations and written much of what we consider the feminist canon, espousing sexual liberation and satisfaction, LGBTQ inclusion, and racial solidarity, all while branding the language of the movement itself in whiteness and speaking over Black and Brown women in an effort to uphold privilege and perceived cultural superiority. An American Muslim woman, attorney, and political philosopher, Rafia Zakaria champions a reconstruction of feminism in Against White Feminism, centering women of color in this transformative overview and counter-manifesto to white feminism’s global, long-standing affinity with colonial, patriarchal, and white supremacist ideals. Covering such ground as the legacy of the British feminist imperialist savior complex and “the colonial thesis that all reform comes from the West” to the condescension of the white feminist–led “aid industrial complex” and the conflation of sexual liberation as the “sum total of empowerment,” Zakaria follows in the tradition of intersectional feminist forebears Kimberlé Crenshaw, Adrienne Rich, and Audre Lorde. Zakaria ultimately refutes and reimagines the apolitical aspirations of white feminist empowerment in this staggering, radical critique, with Black and Brown feminist thought at the forefront.

Download Now
Author
Publisher W. W. Norton & Company
Release Date
ISBN 1324006625
Pages 256 pages
Rating 4/5 (26 users)

More Books:

Against White Feminism: Notes on Disruption
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Rafia Zakaria
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-08-17 - Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

GET EBOOK

A radically inclusive, intersectional, and transnational approach to the fight for women’s rights. Upper-middle-class white women have long been heralded as
Antagonizing White Feminism
Language: en
Pages: 176
Authors: Noelle Chaddock
Categories: Philosophy
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-12-15 - Publisher: Lexington Books

GET EBOOK

Antagonizing White Feminism: Intersectionality’s Critique of Women’s Studies and the Academy pushes back against the exclusive scholarship and discourse com
Against White Feminism
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Rafia Zakaria
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-09 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

Personal, provocative and powerfully persuasive - an essential guide to what white feminism is, why it matters, and how we can put an end to it 'Thoughtful and
Against White Feminism
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Rafia Zakaria
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-09-09 - Publisher: Penguin UK

GET EBOOK

An essential, comprehensive account of what white feminism is, and an empowering manifesto for revolution For readers of Reni Eddo-Lodge's Why I'm No Longer Tal
The Trouble with White Women
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Kyla Schuller
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-10-05 - Publisher: Hachette UK

GET EBOOK

An incisive history of self-serving white feminists and the inspiring women who’ve continually defied them Women including Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Margaret Sa
White Tears/Brown Scars
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Ruby Hamad
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-10-06 - Publisher: Catapult

GET EBOOK

Called “powerful and provocative" by Dr. Ibram X. Kendi, author of the New York Times bestselling How to be an Antiracist, this explosive book of history and
Hood Feminism
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Mikki Kendall
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-05-13 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

GET EBOOK

'It is absolutely brilliant, I think every woman should read it' PANDORA SYKES, THE HIGH LOW 'My wish is that every white woman who calls herself a feminist wil
The Color of Privilege
Language: en
Pages: 203
Authors: Aída Hurtado
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 1996 - Publisher: University of Michigan Press

GET EBOOK

Sheds new light on women's differing responses to feminism according to factors of ethnicity and race
Are All the Women Still White?
Language: en
Pages: 346
Authors: Janell Hobson
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-05-01 - Publisher: SUNY Press

GET EBOOK

Provides a contemporary response to such landmark volumes as All the Women Are White, All the Blacks Are Men, But Some of Us Are Brave and This Bridge Called My
Antagonizing White Feminism
Language: en
Pages: 176
Authors: Noelle Chaddock
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-07-15 - Publisher: Lexington Books

GET EBOOK

Much of the work coming out of Women's Studies spaces narrowly defines what it means to be a woman. Antagonizing White Feminism pushes back against this exclusi